Cincinnati Burglary Defense Lawyer
What Is Considered to be Burglary?
Ohio defines the criminal act of burglary in Chapter 2911 of the Ohio Revised Code.
The law breaks burglary down into five different degree:
Fifth Degree: Known as breaking and entering, this is the criminal act of trespassing
into an unoccupied structure with the intention to commit a theft crime
or other felony. Punishable by 6 to 12 months in prison and a fine of $2,500.
Fourth Degree: This occurs when someone trespasses into a home where someone is either
present or would normally be present. Punishable by 6-18 months in prison
and a $5,000 fine.
Third Degree: This is the criminal act of trespassing into an occupied structure with
the intention of committing another crime. Punishable by 1-5 years in
prison and a $10,000 fine.
Second Degree: This is the criminal act of trespassing into an occupied structure with
the intention of committing another crime. Punishable by 2-8 years in
prison and fines up to $15,000.
First Degree: Known as aggravated burglary, this is second degree burglary committed
with the use of a deadly weapon or committed by attempting to, threatening
to, or inflicting physical harm. Punishable by 3-10 years in prison and
fines up to $20,000.
Work with a Skilled Cincinnati Criminal Defense Attorney
While most people assume burglary involves
theft of some kind, that is not always the case. As explained above, burglary
can occur simply by breaking and entering into a structure—even
if no theft occurs. Regardless, this is a serious criminal charge with
severe penalties that can be imposed if convicted. For this reason, if
you or someone you love has been arrested, you should not hesitate to
get in touch with our
Cincinnati defense firm. Our firm is available 24/7/365 and is has 20+ years of collective legal
We are a theft crime defense firm that you can trust.
Call today to request your free case evaluation.