Let Us Defend Your Rights & ReputationProtecting Clients' Futures Since 1999
Sex Offender Registration in Ohio
Learn More About Sex Offender Rules in Ohio
In Ohio, individuals who are convicted of sex crimes are required to register as sex offenders for a minimum of 10 years. The exact amount of time that you will be made to register will depend on various factors of your case, including its severity. The list of sex offenders is available to the public so that they are aware of the sex offenders within their area.
If you have been arrested for a sex crime or are aware of allegations against you, do not hesitate to contact our firm. Our Cincinnati criminal defense lawyers can help you fight the charges you face. We have more than 20 years of collective experience and are prepared to help you fight for your freedom!
To learn more about sex offender rules in Ohio, contact us today.
Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act
In 2008, the state of Ohio adopted the Adam Walsh Child Protection and Safety Act. This act develops various tiers of sex offenders based on the severity of the sex crime and the regulations involved.
In Ohio, sex offenders are required to register in the counties where they:
- Attend school
If the sex offender moves, he or she will be required to register in that area. Following are the tiers of sex offenders:
Tier III Offenders
Tier III includes individuals who have allegedly committed the most serious offenses, such as murder with sexual motivation, sexual battery, and rape. Individuals in Tier II must register every 90 days for their entire lives.
Tier II Offenders
Individuals who fall into Tier II have been convicted of offenses that include unlawful sexual conduct with minor and other sex crime charges of this weightiness. Sex offenders who fall into this category must register every 180 days for 25 years.
Tier I Offenders
Types of sex crime offenses that fall into Tier I include pandering obscenity and sexual imposition. Juveniles in Tier I will need to register every year for a decade, but adults will need to register once a year for every 15 years.
Contact Bleile & Dawson
At Bleile & Dawson, we can fight for your rights if you are charged or accused of a sex crime offense. During a free case evaluation, we can review your case and help you know the options available. We can strategize a personalized method of resolution.
If you have questions concerning sex offender registration in Ohio, contact our firm to schedule a free case evaluation!