Cincinnati Domestic Violence Attorney
Domestic Violence Charge? Act Now to Defend Yourself! Call (513) 399-5945.
Allegations of domestic violence can quickly escalate to serious criminal charges and a conviction that turns your life upside down. Don't let accusations from an angry, bitter, or frightened family member tear you away from your family. Call our Cincinnati domestic violence attorneys at Bleile & Dawson to start building an effective defense the moment these allegations arise.
Why Choose Bleile & Dawson?
- Attorneys Bringing 40+ Years' Combined Experience
- One-on-One Legal Help Available 24/7/365
- Proven Trial Advocacy in State & Federal Court
- Attorney Ashley Dawson - 2017 Super Lawyers® Rising Stars℠ - Top 2.5% of Lawyers Under the Age of 40
- Ranked Among the Nation's Top One Percent by the National Association of Distinguished Counsel
If you are facing charges for domestic violence, get the defense you need by contacting our Cincinnati domestic violence lawyers today.
Stop Charges of Domestic Violence Before They Even Start
Bleile & Dawson can represent you even before official charges have been filed. Most domestic violence allegations must be investigated by the police before the accuser can file charges against you. This is known as a "pre-trial investigation." A Cincinnati domestic violence lawyer from our firm can represent you during this investigation and may be able to prevent charges from being filed, at all.
What Is Domestic Violence?
"Domestic Violence" is defined in Ohio Revised Code §2919.25 as:
- Knowingly causing or attempting to cause physical harm to a family or household member
- Recklessly causing serious physical harm to a family or household member
- By threat of force, knowingly causing a family or household member to believe that the offender will cause imminent physical harm to the family or household member
In Ohio, domestic violence is a felony of the fourth degree. In aggravated cases – such as if the victim is pregnant – an alleged offense could escalate to a second-degree felony. Whether you need to fight a temporary restraining order or require a full-fledged defense, our criminal defense firm is prepared to advocate on your behalf.
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Ohio
If you are charged with domestic violence, you can face the following penalties:
- First Degree Misdemeanor: $1,000 maximum fine and/or six months in jail
- Second Degree Misdemeanor: $750 maximum fine and/or 90 days in jail
- Third Degree Misdemeanor: $500 maximum fine and/or 60 days in jail
- Fifth Degree Felony: $2,500 maximum fine and/or six to twelve months in prison
- Fourth Degree Felony: $5,000 maximum fine and/or six to eighteen months in prison
- Third Degree Felony: $10,000 maximum fine and/or nine months to three years in prison
The court will impose a minimum sentence of six months or one year, if the offender was aware that the victim was pregnant. This is dependent on if the incident was harmful or a threat and whether it harmed the unborn child or not.
Defending Against Domestic Violence Charges
Contact us right away to take action and defend yourself from charges of domestic violence. We can defend you during a pre-trial investigation and represent you in court if charges are filed. When you work with us, our team will work tirelessly to prove that the allegations against you were not founded on facts.
Proudly serving clients in Cincinnati, Ohio and Southern Ohio, and in Northern, Western & Eastern Kentucky, including Boone County, Kenton County and Campbell County. We also serve clients in Southeast Indiana.
Facing charges for domestic violence? Call now at (513) 399-5945 for a free case evaluation!